



KHYC 2022 SPINNAKER SERIES NOR

<u>Notice of Race</u>

A series of (5) race events hosted by KHYC. The series is a qualifier for the ASMBYC Championships and (3) of the (5) are also ASMBYC High Point races.

DIVISIONS: Based on initial registrations, PHRF classes will be established for the entire series using PHRF Area B RLC spinnaker handicaps. They are based on relative performance potential and anticipated entries. PHRF Spinnaker Class A, B and C assignments will be assigned the day before the first race. PHRF-V class will be available for boats with PHRF WL ratings that are greater than 135 and have Performance Factors that are less than 1.76. Non-spinnaker offsets will not apply.

ENTRIES: Spinnaker classes are open to members of SCYA affiliated Yacht Clubs or Associations who hold a current rating certificate. Cruisers, Multihulls, Martin 242s, Vipers, J70s and other one design classes are invited; at least three entries will constitute a class. One Design and Multihull entries must fulfill the eligibility requirements of their class. Entrants can complete the online entry process for a Series Pass for the 5 race series at <u>http://www.regattaman.com/pass_reg1.php?pass_id=52&yr=2022&op=select</u>. Or entrants can register for individual races which will be listed in the particular race's NOR.

The entry fee for individual races is \$30.00 with a \$5 discount for entries 5 days before race day or \$100.00 for the entire series.

RULES: This series will be governed by the current Racing Rules of Sailing, the USSA Prescriptions and the Sailing Instructions issued by KHYC for each race.

SCORING: The USSA low point scoring system will apply except that scoring for DNC, DNS, DSQ, etc. will be one place more than the number of starters in each race. Each race will be scored separately toward the lowest series total for 5 races with **one throw out**. PHRF boats must race with a valid certificate, sail in 3 race events and race with their spinnaker rating to qualify for series awards and perpetual trophies.

TROPHIES: There will be individual take home trophies for each event. Perpetual trophies for each race, as noted in the Sailing Instructions will be awarded to the PHRF winner during the annual race awards event. The "Bob Hight Memorial" Perpetual Trophy for Class A, the "The Spinnaker" Perpetual Trophy for Class B and the "Vintage" Perpetual Trophy for Class V are awarded to the overall series winners.

HOSPITALITY: Participants are welcome to use the clubhouse, overnight guest dock and hoist (6000 lbs. Max) in conjunction with each race. Refreshments are offered after the races.

KHYC 2022 SPINNAKER SERIES

Individual Race Descriptions:

No. 1 - Stoney Special, Saturday, March 19th

A race of approximately 10.3 NM using KHYC marks. A US Nearshore event. Random Leg Ratings apply with TOT scoring. An ASMBYC High Point Race.

No. 2 - Trans Harbor, Saturday April 30th

A race of approximately 22.1 NM using KHYC marks and race marks off Marina del Rey. A US Nearshore event. RLC ratings will apply with TOT scoring. **An ASMBYC High Point Race.**

No. 3 - Malibu and Return, Saturday June 18th

A race across Santa Monica Bay to a mark near the Malibu Pier or to one off Topanga Canyon and return. A US Nearshore event. RLC ratings apply with TOT scoring. The course to Malibu is 35.5 nm and that to Topanga Canyon and return is 27.9 nm.

No. 4 – KHYC-CBYC Saturday July 23th

A race of about 17 NM from King Harbor to Cabrillo Beach via Angels Gate. A US Nearshore event. RLC ratings will apply with TOT scoring

No. 5 - Matt Walsh, Saturday September 17th

A single multiple leg race of approximately 11.2 NM using both KHYC marks and 10PV. A US Nearshore event. RLC ratings apply with TOT scoring. An ASMBYC High Point Race.

Perpetual Trophies for this Series:

Stoney Special:	- E.	Marold Eyestone Perpete	ual PHRF A & B	
Trans Harbor (2 nd longest	race):	Fisherman's Race Perpe Jimmie Morris Perpetual	()	
Malibu and Return (longest race):			Lobster house Perpetual - (PHRF A) Brin Owen Perpetual (PHRF B)	
KHYC-CBYC Race:		H.A Simms Perpetual PF	H.A Simms Perpetual PHRF A & B	
Matt Walsh:		Matt Walsh Perpetual PF	Matt Walsh Perpetual PHRF A & B	
Overall Perpetuals: Bob Hight Memorial (PHRF A) Spinnaker Perpetual (PHRF B) Vintage Perpetual (PHRF V)				
Race Chair: Assistant Race Chair: ASMBYC Coordinator:	James Lee Denny Browne David Doeh	jhl.navy@gmail.com denny.browne@me.com davidcaptain4u@gmail.com	(310) 619-6405 (310) 408-9591 (310) 713-1393	

KHYC 2022 Spinnaker Series NOR - V2.doc

(310) 376-2459